Robin Williams didn’t require my permission to end his life

I usually eschew rampant topics as it is in my nature not to tackle the issues that tend to build into fiery fighting rinks. I dislike discussions emerged simply because they are popular at a certain moment in time. I shun association with the masses.

This time, however, I’ve surprised myself as pressingly satiated with talks of the death of Robin Williams. There are voices that exonerate his choice in front of his accusers. Those are the people who can ‘understand’ and ‘feel rather sympathetic’. I have also read fragments rebuking cowardice, irresponsibility, selfishness. These are the less compassionate, who are ready with answers for whatever question imaginable in their hidden holsters – the strong and powerful ones. I have perused psychologists’ articles on the possible depression he might have suffered from, the feelings of alienation and abiding encumbrance he must have surely been driven by.

I am simply astounded by the amount of writings ranting about Robin Williams’s life and death. The positive thing about suicide is that decision is made and action is taken by one and the same person – it is the only type of death in which humans actually have a real say about their departure. Robin resolved to commit suicide and he succeeded. He established a course of action, took matters in his own hands and stopped breathing. Why would he need any type of unacquainted voice to explain, accuse or condemn his option? What gives anybody the right to discuss his alleged feelings, needs, desperation or fears? Why exactly would people need to ‘take sides’ on the matter?! Why is it even a matter of controversy and debate?!

There are several simple facts: Robin Williams was a brilliant actor, an accomplished and outstanding artist; he seemed a pleasant, smart chap; he is now dead. The only manner in which our lives are influenced by this piece of truth is that we will not see him play new characters.

He was not our friend, our confidant, not even our neighbor. He was the actor, we were the audience. We liked or disliked his acting career. Robin did not rely on his fans to help him with life decisions, I am quite certain of that. He surely never asked ‘Guys, what do you think I should do?’ or “Do you agree with my finding?’

Personally, I loved him for two films in particular, One Hour Photo and Good morning, Vietnam and I honestly believe he should have been cast in more roles, in fewer comedies and that he deserved more screen time. What he lacked was a majestic role to crown his imperial acting career. But that is just my personal opinion on the only things I genuinely know about him.

I have no idea what his life was like, what his dreams were or whether he enjoyed his work. I have absolutely no clue as to whether he was a loved husband or an adored father. I have no proof that he was a happy or a dejected man. And I don’t care about any of that information. It has zero impact on my life. On my personal development. On my commendation of him as a paramount actor. We never shared a cup of tea, we never chatted over the phone. I haven’t passed him by in the streets, I haven’t shaken his hand, read any interviews or desired to meet him in person. I have no knowledge of him as a real person and I need none. I am fully delighted with his filmography.

There are no judgments to be expressed. We are no longer contemporary with Robin Williams. That’s that.

Robin-Williams-robin-williams-23618128-832-1248

 

Image source : http://goo.gl/llPpoi 

Leave a Reply

