When does our brain learn symmetry?

I watch my 27-month-old son build his plastic brick contraptions and I marvel at the lack of association of what he creates with something (anything!) real (probable, feasible). Adults are tempted to try and build A thing .. a bridge, a tower, a castle, a boat, a tree.. anything that has a name, identity, conventional meaning and image.

I try not to influence him in any way since I love this no-connection creativity. I simply enjoy the fact that he needs no starting point, he needs no inspiration, no set notions or concepts. However, when I do help him place those Lego Duplo bricks one on top of the other, I realise the colours I choose, the types of bricks that I set as props.. they all fall into a minimal symmetry game of my subconscious. My son however is never tempted by it, he never cares that there is one single brick as foundation and 15 larger pieces on top, he never focuses on balance and equilibrium. He never deems them compulsory. Or useful.

I realised that there is no concern for symmetry or balance when he stacks things one upon the other in general. Which is why I noticed that these reflexes are acquired, learnt, assumed by a conscious effort of our mind and personality. It is one of those issues civilisation brings with it and which proves that humans evolve, develop and ‘mature’.

NaBloPoMo_November_small

 

Leave a Reply

