Footsteps in the Sand

Walking around the beach

I discovered a track of footstepts in the moist sand.

I followed slowly, pressing my own soles onto the visible marks,

the track leading towards the water.

Was it a man looking at the sun?

Was it a lady who wanted to run free?

Was it somebody born by the sea trying to feel again the smell he first smellt on his birthday?

Was it a criminal washing away the blood on his hands?

Was it a monk seeking salvation?

Was it a raver moving to the beat in his brain?

Was it a mother hoping to forget the death of a daughter?

Was it Jesus hoping to get at least one follower?

I entered the water, I let my skin be smacked by the cold waves

and when the water went over my head I forgot all questions.

Leave a Reply

